New Chair, Vice-Chair and Members appointed to CIAC Board of Directors

The Chemistry Industry Association of Canada (CIAC) welcomed Helder Botelho, Head of Operations Canada, LANXESS Canada, as its new Chair of the Board of Directors and Apala Mukherjee, President, BASF Canada, as Vice-Chair at its board of directors meeting today.

“I would like to thank CIAC and my fellow board members for this important nomination. I look forward to working with this exceptional group of experts on the priorities facing Canada’s chemistry sector,” said Mr. Botelho. “LANXESS Canada has been a member of CIAC for over a decade and I am honoured to be chairing this outstanding association.”

CIAC also welcomed Emily Fattore, Senior Director, Health, Safety and Environment, ERCO Worldwide, Sleiman S. Bassila, Chemicals Business Manager, Imperial Oil Chemicals, and Diego Ordoñez, President of Dow Chemical Canada, and Senior Business Director Feedstocks and Energy as new board directors. In February 2022, CIAC welcomed two additional directors, Scott Rook, President and CEO of Chemtrade Logistics and Jim Madro, Senior Vice-President, Petrochemicals of Inter Pipeline.

“We are so pleased to be able to welcome our new Chair and Vice Chair as well as our new members. Helder, Apala and all our Board members offer extraordinary, unique knowledge in our sector,” said Bob Masterson, President and CEO of CIAC.

“I also want to thank our outgoing Chair, Tyler Edgington of Dow Chemical Canada, who provided important guidance before taking on a new exciting role in Switzerland. We wish him the best in his new endeavours.”