Lively discussion on plastic waste, industry investments at 20th Annual Alberta Chemistry Day

CIAC held its 20th annual Alberta Chemistry Day October 16, welcoming nearly 100 delegates to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in Edmonton.

Isabelle Des Chênes, Executive Vice President at CIAC moderated a panel on Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) – Closing the Loop on Plastic Waste in Alberta with panelists: Ronda Goulden – Associate Deputy Minister, Policy and Planning, Alberta Environment and Parks; Cathy Heron – Mayor of the City of St. Albert and Vice President AUMA, and; Christina Seidel, Executive Director, Recycling Council of Alberta.

Greg Moffatt, Senior Director, Business and Economics at CIAC moderated a second panel on Attracting New Investments – Is it a Question of Competitiveness? Panelists were David James, Associate Deputy Minister of Natural Gas, Alberta Energy; Allan Fogwill, President, Canadian Energy Research Institute; Mark Plamondon, Executive Director, Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association; Tyler Edgington,  President and Hydrocarbons Director, Dow Chemical Canada ULC, and; Arnel Santos – Senior Vice President Operations, NOVA Chemicals Corporation. Lunch included a keynote address by Cal Kullman, Executive Director of the RiverWatch Institute of Alberta.