Industry leaders recognized with CIAC’s Merit and Chair’s awards

The Chemistry Industry Association of Canada (CIAC) has announced the winners of its annual Merit and Chair’s Awards, recognizing leaders in Canada’s chemistry industry. The awards ceremony was held at The Westin Ottawa on October 17.

“These awards recognize individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the work CIAC does on behalf of the industry, who are committed to living the ethics and principles of Responsible Care®and who play an integral part in the successes the Association celebrates,” says Bob Masterson, President and CEO of CIAC, and “they deserve to be recognized for their efforts.” 

This year’s winners are:




Dave Emerson, President and COO, CCC Group
Dave received this award for his help in moulding the strategic direction of CIAC through his 11-year service on the Association’s Board of Directors, and his personal commitment to CIAC’s TRANSCAER® initiative. CIAC recognized his efforts to rally his peers to do what was needed to put this outreach activity on a sustainable footing.




Mike Drumm, HSSE Country Lead, Shell Chemicals
Mike was recognized for his continual involvement with CIAC, including with the Multi-Association Committee on the Transportation of Dangerous Goods, the National and Prairie Regional TRANSCAER® committees, the Safety and Health Analysis, Recognition and Exchange (SHARE) network and the Transportation Emergency Assistance Program (TEAP III).

Dwight Este, EHSS Area Manager, LANXESS Canada
Dwight received this award for his 30-year commitment to the Elmira, Ontario site now operated by LANXESS, a site that stands as a case study of both the need for, and benefits of Responsible Care®.

Ken Faulkner, Director of Government Relations, NOVA Chemicals
Ken was given this award for his role as a respected voice for NOVA — and the industry — with the federal, Alberta and Ontario governments on issues related to growth and competitiveness.

Kris Lee, Lee Environmental Education & Consulting
Kris received this award for her dedication to ensuring that industry, in particular Responsible Care® companies, meet their commitments to the local community and environment.

Lorna Young, TechWorks
Though she officially retired in May of 2016, Lorna was given this award for her long-standing commitment to Responsible Care®; and her work with CIAC, including with the Stewardship Task Force, TRANSCAER®; and the Process Safety Network.

The Board of Directors of CIAC congratulate all the well-deserving award recipients.