The Chemistry Industry Association of Canada (CIAC) announced the recipients of its annual awards at a gala celebration on October 21.

The awards recognize individuals whose commitment to support the issues, advocacy and sustainability of Canada’s chemistry industry deserve special recognition.

A highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Outstanding Leadership Award to CIAC President and CEO Richard Paton.  This is only the fifth time the award has been given since its inception in 2000.  Richard has led CIAC for almost 20 years and will retire in December 2015.

CIAC also presented its annual Chairman’s and Merit Awards:

  • Graeme Flint, Vice President, Olefins Feedstock at NOVA Chemicals was recognized with a Chairman’s Award for his significant work on business and competitive issues, both federally and in Alberta.
  • Carles Navarro, President of BASF Canada is a member of CIAC’s Board of Directors and Executive Committee and received a Chairman’s Award for his tireless advocacy on behalf of the Association and his unwavering commitment to Responsible Care® – the Association’s sustainability initiative.
  • Randy Mak, Hydrocarbon Products Technician for Dow Chemical Canada was recognized with a Merit Award for his leadership and commitment to promoting CIAC’s transportation safety initiatives.

The Board of Directors of CIAC congratulate all of this year’s award winners.

The Chemistry Industry Association of Canada (CIAC) is the voice of Canada’s chemistry industry, representing members and partners across the country. Canada’s chemistry industry is a $53 billion industry which directly employs 81,000 Canadians. Members of CIAC are signatories to Responsible Care® – the Association’s U.N.-recognized sustainability initiative.