CIAC welcomes federal cabinet ministers

The Chemistry Industry Association of Canada (CIAC) offers our congratulations to Canada’s new and returning federal cabinet ministers. In particular, we wish to welcome – and welcome back – the following ministers:

  • Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Environment and Climate Change
  • Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Natural Resources
  • Chrystia Freeland, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance
  • François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science, and Industry
  • Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities
  • Mary Ng, Minister of International Trade, Export Promotion, Small Business and Economic Development
  • Omar Alghabra, Minister of Transport
  • Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Health
  • Randy Boissonnault, Minister of Tourism and Associate Minister of Finance

CIAC also wishes to acknowledge former Ministers Jim Carr and Marc Garneau for their long-standing engagement and interest in issues involving Canada’s chemistry sector.

More than 95 per cent of all manufactured products rely on chemistry. Reducing emissions for all Canadians in key sectors such as green buildings, more fuel-efficient transportation, clean energy, clean technology, and sustainable agriculture would be impossible without chemistry and plastics.

“Chemistry and plastics will play an essential role in Canada’s post-pandemic economic recovery. Our products are the nexus of all solutions to energy efficiency, net-zero emissions, and a circular economy. The chemistry industry will invest in these areas in years to come,” said Bob Masterson, President and CEO of CIAC.

“CIAC looks forward to working together with the federal government and all cabinet ministers towards the goal of net-zero emissions for Canada and a circular economy supported by a welcoming investment climate.”