The Chemistry Industry Association of Canada (CIAC) is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s safety awards.

The Excellence in Safety Award is presented to member-companies that have met criteria for excellence in safety for five straight years.  This year’s recipients are:

  • Evonik Oil Additives Canada Inc.
  • PeroxyChem Canada
  • Imperial Oil
  • MEGlobal Canada Inc.
  • Nalco Canada ULC.

The Improvement in Safety Award is given to member-companies that have met criteria for continuous improvement, and demonstrated improvement in safety three years in a row. This year’s winners are:

  •  Akzo Nobel Chemicals Ltd
  • Axiall Canada Inc.
  • Cytec Canada Inc.

Sponsored by CIAC’s Safety Health Analysis Recognition and Exchange (SHARE) Network, the awards are based on 2014 year-end health and safety data collected from CIAC member- companies.

Since 1990, CIAC members have reduced the incidents of workplace injuries and illnesses by more than 78%.” says Bob Masterson, CIAC’s Vice President of Responsible Care®.  “And we’re proud to be able to recognize their commitment to continuous improvement of health and safety in the workplace.”

CIAC represents the interests of Canada’s leading chemistry companies – from petrochemical, inorganic and specialty chemical producers, to bio-based manufacturers and chemistry-related technology and R&D companies. Canada’s chemistry industry directly employs 82,000 Canadians, and supports another 410,000 jobs in the Canadian economy.  Responsible Care® is the association’s U.N.-recognized sustainability initiative, dedicated to the betterment of society, the environment and the economy.